June 9, 2016
June 9, 2016
Show all
The-Lazarus-Curse-Dr-Thomas-Silkstone-Mystery-0
Template

Description

In 1780s London, American anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone is plunged into a swirling cauldron of sorcery, slavery, and cold-blooded murder . . .

When the sole survivor of an ill-fated scientific expedition to Jamaica goes missing upon his return to London, Dr. Thomas Silkstone–entrusted with cataloging the expedition’s New World specimens–feels compelled to investigate. There are rumors of a potion that has the power to raise the dead–and the formula is suspected to be in the private journal that has disappeared along with the young botanist.

As Dr. Silkstone searches for clues to the man’s whereabouts, he is drawn deeper into a dark and dangerous world of vengeance, infidelity, murder, and the trafficking of corpses for profit. Without the support of his beloved Lady Lydia Farrell–from whom he has been forcibly separated by law–he must confront the horrors of slavery, as well the very depths of human wickedness. And after a headless corpse is discovered, Dr. Silkstone begins to uncover the sinister motives of those in power who would stop at nothing to possess the Lazarus potion. . .

Praise for The Dead Shall Not Rest

“Outstanding. . .well-rounded characters, cleverly concealed evidence and an assured prose style point to a long run for this historical series.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Populated with real historical characters and admirably researched, Harris’s novel features a complex and engrossing plot. A touch of romance makes this sophomore outing even more enticing. Savvy readers will also recall Hilary Mantel’s The Giant, O’Brien.” —Library Journal

Praise for The Anatomist’s Apprentice

“Densely plotted. . . We await–indeed, demand–the sequel.” —The New York Times Book Review

“An absorbing debut. . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised.” —Publishers Weekly

“Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr.” —Library Journal

Amazon Customer Reviews
Additional Information
Author

Tessa Harris

Publication Date

2014-07-29

Publisher

Kensington

Reviews (0)

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *