July 13, 2019
    Deidre Knight, Senior Agent and President

    First, I want to be clear that the following list by no means represents everything I’m looking for. These are just guideposts to give you an idea of the kinds of books I’m particularly looking for right now. I’m eagerly seeking black and diverse voices, particularly in any of the genres she’s particularly interested in.

    My most recent read, which is the exact sort of book I want to find, is THE BROMANCE BOOK CLUB. I’m also eagerly seeking LGBTQ fiction and nonfiction, both YA and adult, in all genres. Recent favorite queer YA reads are RED, WHITE AND ROYAL BLUE and AUTOBOYOGRAPHY. Always a great fan of enemies-to-lovers romance and secret/forbidden romance. If there are *both*? I’m all in!

    In fiction, I am hungry for a very voice-driven novel, and am seeking in several areas, from women’s fiction to YA to #ownvoices. I enjoy emotionally compelling novels (think Me Before You). A really authentic Southern novel, with strong voice. Think Pat Conroy or Anne River Siddons. And always—a boarding school/prep school novel that’s a true standout, because I’ve never fully recovered from The Westminster Schools! I’m also looking for a wonderful YA romance in the vein of Stephanie Perkins or Jenny Han.  I would love to find more authors like TJ Klune and a project like our own TWEET CUTE by Emma Lord.

    I really want something in the vein of Elin Hilderbrand (whose novels are set on Nantucket and the Cape) and Judy Blundell’s THE HIGH SEASON (which is set on the North Fork of Long island and is one of my all-time favorite books). I also like Abby Jimenez (THE FRIEND ZONE). And I’ve been on a spate of reading hockey and sports romances lately. You can’t go wrong targeting me for anything hockey-related, whether fiction or nonfiction. I’m a huge fan, so this is obviously right in my wheelhouse!  (Go Preds!)

    Fantasy of all stripes. I represent TJ Klune’s adult queer fantasies at Tor Books, which should give you an excellent gauge of the kinds of books I might love, i.e. filled with heart, emotion and humor. I also represent Gena Showalter on the adult and YA side. Her young adult novels are very representative of teen fantasy that I’m looking for: big concepts, compelling characters, a voice that pulls you right in.

    Also, I’d like to find nonfiction business/investing focused books, especially those focused on digital culture and investment opportunities. I’m seeking financial topics for millennials. I’d also like a book exploring the impacts of a cashless society, not just an exploration of crypto. In short, bring me your timely financial and investment topics. As an entrepreneur myself, I’m always eager for topics addressing leadership and business management and ownership.

    submit